The Mdina Cathedral Museum houses a unique collection of priceless Albrech Dürer etchings. The collection features more than 80 woodcuts and copper plate etching by German Renaissance painter and printmaker Albrecht Durer (1471-1528). The collection includes a series of images relating to the life of the virgin Mary called the “The Life of the Virgin” as well as another series called “The Small Passion”, which shows images on the passion and death of Jesus Christ.
Albrech Dürer’s reputation was well known all over Europe and he corresponded with most of the prominent Renaissance artists of the period. He came at a time before printing was invented. His genius can be appreciated in the minute detail of his etchings.
Count Saverio Marchese (1757-1833) a french nobleman who settled in March in the 17th century donated this rare collection to the Mdina cathedral which was always considered and enclave of artistic sophistication.
One can say that Count Marchese was the founder of the Cathedral Museum Collection when in his will dated May 2, 1831 bequeathed a vast collection of paintings, drawings and prints donated over the years would be “deposited and preserved forever in the hall and library of the Cathedral”.
The refurbishment of the Albrech Dürer Hall, marks another important milestone in the Mdina Cathedral refurbishment and upgrading programme. The redesigned hall within the Mdina Cathedral Museum houses the two complete collections of the “Life of the Virgin” and “The Small Passion”.
The inauguration of the Albrecht Dürer Hall at the Mdina on the 6th April was attended by her Excellency the German Ambassador Madame Gudrun Sräga. A generous donation by by Federal Republic of Germany and the German Embassy Valletta, towards the hall’s refurbishment, specifically the print’s frames and their protection using museum glass ensured that this unique and priceless collection be enjoyed by the public once again.
The Albrecht Dürer Hall at the Mdina Cathedral museum is open to the public between Monday and Saturday from 9am to 5pm. Click here for directions to reach the museum.